New South Wales’s best and brightest planners have been celebrated at the 2018 PIA NSW Awards for Planning Excellence, with winners and commendations across thirteen categories.

The winners are:

Planning Champion

Winner: Geoff Roberts, Greater Sydney Commission

Best Planning Ideas — Small Project

Winner: Place Design Group, AILA, Smart Cities Council Australia/New Zealand for Future Street.

Best Planning Ideas — Large Project

Winner: Geolink & Planners North & Bayshore Developments Pty Ltd for The Habitat

Commendation: The Greater Sydney Commission for A Metropolis of Three Cities —  Greater Sydney Region Plan

Commendation: City of Parramatta Council for Parramatta CBD Planning Proposal —  Infrastructure Funding

Plan to Place

Winner: Department of Planning and Environment — Strategic Planning Team for their NSW Regional Planning Program

Commendation: Sekisui House Australia in collaboration with SJB Planning, Camden Council and DPE for The Hermitage

Hard-Won Victory

Winner: Canterbury-Bankstown Council, Tim Moore and Associates, Hill Thalis Architecture + Urban Projects, SGS Economics and Planning and GHD for the Canterbury Road Review

Commendation: GreenWay Steering Committee, Inner West Council, City of Canterbury Bankstown and greenway community champions for Creating the Greenway…Step by Dogged Step

Outstanding Student Project

Winner: Kathryn Weaver for the Walking With Women: A Female Review Of Safety In The Sydney Commercial District

Commendatio: Emma Thompson for Live (And Regulate) Like A Local: Planning for Short-Term Holiday Letting in NSW

Commendation: Jamie van Geldermalsen, Mile IIija Barbaric, Umair Afzaal Rao & Kun Fan (University of Sydney) for the Central City 2048: Strategic Plan For Greater Sydney’s Next Metropolitan Centre

Improving Planning Processes and Practices

Winner: Tweed Shire Council and Tweed Byron Local Aboriginal Land Council on behalf of the Aboriginal Advisory Committee for their Tweed Shire Council Aboriginal Cultural Heritage Management Plan

Commendation: Tim Green and Nicola Weimann from Transport for NSW for the Parramatta Light Rail Environmental Impact Statement Navigator

Public Engagement and Community Planning

Winner: Greater Sydney Commission for Shaping the future with the people of Greater Sydney

Commendation: Newcastle City Council for Newcastle 2030 Community Strategic Plan

Commendation: City of Canterbury Bankstown Council for the Community Voice Panel — Public Engagement for the Sydenham to Bankstown Urban Renewal Corridor

Great Place

Winner: Aspect I Oculus, Lendlease, Rogers Stirk Harbour+ Partners for Barangaroo South

Innovation in Development Assessment

Winner: City of Parramatta Council, Social Outcomes Team for Sharing the Opportunities of Growth for All — Socially Sustainable Parramatta Framework

Cutting Edge Research and Teaching

Winner: Cred Consulting for the Greater Sydney Commission for Greater Sydney’s Social Capital: Its Nature and Its Value

Commendation: SGS Economics and Planning for Sydney’s Urban Services Land: Establishing a Baseline Provision

Young Planner of the Year

Winner: Rukshan de Silva RPIA, Department of Planning and Environment

Commendation: Jocelyn McDowall MPIA, Urbis

Planner of the Year

Winner: Sue Weatherley MPIA

President’s Award

Winner: Aspect I Oculus, Lendlease, Rogers Stirk Harbour+ Partners for Barangaroo South

NSW Minister for Planning, Anthony Roberts, congratulated the NSW Department of Planning for taking out two major awards: Best Planning Ideas – Large Project Award for delivering Regional Plans across the whole of regional NSW for the first time, and the NSW Young Planner of the Year award, which went to one of the Department’s executive planners, Rukshan de Silva.

“It’s an honour that the Department’s world class work has been recognised at the prestigious PIA NSW awards,” Mr Roberts said.

“The team within the Department’s Planning and Design Division is led by Dan Simpkins and supported by NSW Chief Planner Gary White. It has delivered a phenomenal result, releasing nine Regional Plans from 2015-2017.”

Related articles

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


©2022 Infrastructure Magazine. All rights reserved


We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.


Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?