Infrastructure Australia Board Peter Harris AO Samantha Hogg

Infrastructure Australia has welcomed the Australian Government’s appointment of two board members with decades of experience.

Mr Peter Harris AO and Ms Samantha Hogg will join the Infrastructure Australia Board following the retirement of current board members.

Infrastructure Australia Chair, Julieanne Alroe, welcomed Mr Harris and Ms Hogg.

“Together, they bring decades of leadership experience from across the public and private sectors, and will add to the depth and breadth of sectoral knowledge on the Infrastructure Australia Board, as we continue to deliver on our mandate to drive better infrastructure outcomes for all Australians,” Ms Alroe said.

Federal Minister for Infrastructure, Transport and Regional Development, Michael McCormack, said Ms Hogg and Mr Harris both added a wealth of infrastructure knowledge to Infrastructure Australia’s Board with their experiences in public sector management and governance, economic regulation and reform, water and energy infrastructure and transport infrastructure.

Ms Hogg holds more than 25 years’ experience in executive management across the resources and infrastructure sectors, as the former Chief Financial Officer of Transurban Limited and current Chair of TasRail and Tasmanian Irrigation.

She is also a non-executive director of Hydro Tasmania, MaxiTRANS Industries and TasRail, and a member of the Australian Renewable Energy Agency Board.

Mr Harris was Productivity Commission Chair from 2012 to 2018 and Secretary of the Commonwealth Department of Broadband, Communications and the Digital Economy from 2009 to 2012.

He also served as Director of Public Transport for the Victorian Government and Secretary of the Commonwealth Department of Broadband, Communications and the Digital Economy from 2009 to 2012.

Ms Alroe said Infrastructure Australia provides independent, evidence-based advice to governments, and a long-term view of Australia’s infrastructure needs, across sectors and jurisdictions.

“I look forward to Mr Harris and Ms Hogg sharing their valuable expertise across infrastructure and public policy, to further strengthen the strategic advice we provides to governments on Australia’s key investment and reform opportunities.”

The new appointments take place alongside the extension of terms for Mr Peter Corish AM and Ms Gabrielle Trainor AO.

Mr Harris and Ms Hogg will replace outgoing Infrastructure Australia board members, Dr Colin Duffield, Mr John Ellice-Flint and Dr Daniel Norton AO.

“Our retiring board members have had a remarkable impact on the Australian infrastructure sector, and I sincerely thank them for their leadership and contribution to Infrastructure Australia over the last four years,” Ms Alroe said.

“All three joined Infrastructure Australia at a pivotal time in our organisation’s history.

“Together, they have helped shape landmark publications such as the 2015 Australian Infrastructure Audit, the 2016 Australian Infrastructure Plan, our annual Infrastructure Priority List and the infrastructure Reform Series.

“They have also provided valuable input into forthcoming releases, including the 2019 Australian Infrastructure Audit, which is due for release later this year.

“This update to the Australian Infrastructure Audit will be followed by the Australian Infrastructure Plan, which will set out a 15-year rolling infrastructure plan for Australia and the reforms needed to meet our future challenges and opportunities.”

Related articles

Leave a reply

©2024 Infrastructure Magazine. All rights reserved


We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.


Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?