Academy of Engineering Technology Fellows

A much-lauded infrastructure leader is among 25 industry experts elected as Fellows of the Australian Academy of Technology and Engineering.

Chief Executive of Infrastructure Australia, Romilly Madew AO, was welcomed as a Fellow of the Academy alongside leaders from across research, government and industry who are applying science, technology and engineering to solve real-world problems.

A full list of the new Fellows is as follows:

  • Dr Douglas Bock – Director, CSIRO Astronomy and Space Science
  • Dr Lynn Booth – Chief, Joint and Operations Analysis Division, Defence Science and Technology Group
  • Dr Gunilla Burrowes – Chair, Eighteen04 Inc
  • Dr Helen Cleugh, Director, Climate Science Centre, CSIRO
  • Dr Martin Cole – Deputy Director, Agriculture and Food, CSIRO
  • Mr William Cox – Global CEO, Aurecon
  • Professor Melinda Hodkiewicz – The University of Western Australia
  • Professor Emma Johnston AO – Dean, Faculty of Science, UNSW Sydney
  • Professor Sandra Kentish – Head, School of Chemical and Biomedical Engineering, The University of Melbourne
  • Professor David Lloyd – Vice-Chancellor and President, University of South Australia
  • Ms Romilly Madew AO – Chief Executive Officer, Infrastructure Australia
  • Professor Neena Mitter – Director, Centre for Horticultural Science, QAAFI, The University of Queensland
  • Distinguished Professor Adrian Mouritz – Executive Dean of Engineering, RMIT University
  • Professor Saeid Nahavandi – Pro Vice-Chancellor (Defence Technologies), Deakin University
  • Professor Ranjith Pathegama Gamage – Professor in Geomechanics Engineering, Monash University
  • Associate Professor Elaine Saunders – Former Executive Chair, Blamey Saunders Hears
  • Dr Andy Sheppard – Research Director, Managing Invasive Species and Diseases, CSIRO
  • Dr Surinder Pal Singh FAA – Chief Research Scientist, Agriculture and Food, CSIRO
  • Professor Jan Tennent – CEO, Biomedical Research Victoria
  • Dr Alison Todd – Co-Founder & Chief Scientific Officer, SpeeDx Pty Ltd
  • Professor Nicolas Voelcker – Monash University
  • Professor Chien Ming Wang – Transport and Main Roads Chair in Civil Engineering, The University of Queensland
  • Professor Huanting Wang – Monash University
  • Mr Anthony Wood AM – Energy Program Director, Grattan Institute
  • Ms Zoe Yujnovich – Chair/Executive Vice-President, Shell Australia
  • Foreign Fellow: Ms Francesca Ferrazza – Senior Vice-President Decarbonisation & Environmental R&D, Eni, Italy
  • Honorary Fellow: The Hon John Anderson AO – Former Deputy Prime Minister
  • Board-elected Fellow: Dr Andrew Thomas AO – Former NASA astronaut

Academy President, Professor Hugh Bradlow, welcomed the new Fellows. The new Fellows were formally welcomed into the Australian Academy of Technology and Engineering at its Annual General Meeting in Melbourne on 29 November.

Twelve of the 25 new Fellows are women – the highest proportion ever.

They include Ms Madew AO, who is a driving force for the development of sustainable buildings and communities globally.

As the former CEO of the Green Building Council Australia for 13 years, Ms Madew has used her distinct and deep knowledge of sustainable practices, with her personal and professional leadership, to influence the way we design, construct and manage built assets.

Globally, Ms Madew has been a pioneer of sustainable buildings and infrastructure. In 2019, she was made an Officer of the Order of Australia for distinguished service to the construction sector as a change agent and advocate for sustainable building practices.

The Academy brings together Australia’s leading experts in applied science, technology and engineering to provide impartial, practical and evidence-based advice to enable Australia to maintain its position as a leading technology economy.

Ms Madew said she was honoured to be included amongst the distinguished list of individuals.

“The Academy’s overarching mission to apply science, technology and engineering to solve the big issues facing our nation, is something I am passionate about and as a new fellow I look forward to helping drive robust and practical thinking to Australia’s big debates,” she said.

Ms Madew began her lead role with Infrastructure Australia in April 2019. She has held Board positions with the Australian Sustainable Built Environment Council and is currently a Director of Sydney Olympic Park Authority and Chief Executive Women and sat on numerous ministerial panels including the Cities Reference Group, National Urban Policy Forum and the China/Australia Services Sector Forum.

Ms Madew’s achievements have previously been recognised with national and international awards, including the 2015 International Leadership Award from the US Green Building Council and the 2017 World Green Building Council Chairman’s Award.

Related articles

Leave a reply

©2024 Infrastructure Magazine. All rights reserved


We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.


Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?