The Australian Road Safety Foundation (ARSF) has held the Australian Road Safety Awards at Parliament House in Canberra, recognising the achievements of stakeholders in fostering increased road safety. 

Federal Assistant Minister for Road Safety and Freight Transport, Scott Buchholz, said the awards acknowledged the achievements and excellence by individuals and organisations committed to improving road safety.

“These awards place a much deserved spotlight on the hard work and commitment of the many people and organisations, who day in and day out work hard to drive down the road death toll and reduce road trauma,” Mr Buchholz said. 

“The Australian Government believes in the work of the ARSF and continues to support the Foundation through funding for the RoadSet program, Rural Road Safety Month and Fatality Free Friday.”

Mr Buchholz said the Federal Government has been investing in infrastructure with hopes of improving road safety through targeted funding such as the Black Spot and Road Safety Programs.

“We are also partnering with local governments and communities through our Driver Reviver Site Upgrade Program and the Road Safety Awareness and Enablers Fund to fund road safety awareness, education and collaboration initiatives,” Mr Buchholz said. 

“These awards support the work being done by community, business and Government to reduce the number of deaths and trauma on our roads and drive towards zero,” Mr Buchholz said.”

The awards add to the suite of signature programs within the annual ARSF calendar of events.

“I congratulate all of the winners here today and thank them for their service, commitment and dedication to our country and community, in a united effort to improve road safety outcomes for all Australians,” Mr Buchholz said.

The Australian Road Safety Award Winners are:

  • The Community Programs Awards Winner is Queensland Police Service & University of Queensland for Community Engagement with IM-PACT
  • The School Programs Awards Winner is YOU CHOOSE Road Safety
  • The State Government Initiatives Awards Winner is Queensland Police Service for the Seniors Road trip to Road Safety
  • The Technology Award Winner is Driving Well Occupational Therapy for Bringing the Drive Focus app to Australia
  • The Local Government Initiatives Award Winner is the City of Rockingham for the City of Rockingham Strategic Road Safety Action Plan
  • The Innovation Award Winner is the Queensland Traffic Offenders Program & The Australian Traffic Offenders Program
  • The Founders Award Winner is Queensland Police Service & University of Queensland for Community Engagement with IM-PACT

The awards raise awareness about road safety in general and promote strategies that will assist in addressing road safety issues across all sectors. 

The awards also provide a vehicle to further promote road safety on a national scale and unite these programs under a single banner.

Related articles

Leave a reply

©2024 Infrastructure Magazine. All rights reserved


We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.


Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?