construction applause

Six projects have been chosen as finalists for the 2022 Australia Construction Achievement Award (ACAA).

The Australian Constructors Association and Engineers Australia are delivering the prestigious annual award.

The ACAA Finalists for 2022 are: 

Additional Works Package 1 – Cheltenham and Mentone Level Crossing Removal Project, Victoria

By Southern Program Alliance (ACCIONA, Coleman Rail, WSP, Metro Trains Melbourne (MTM) and the Level Crossing Removal Project (LXRP).

The Southern Program Alliance (SPA)’s Additional Works Package 1 removed three dangerous and congested level crossings in Melbourne’s south east for the State Government’s Level Crossing Removal Project, reducing emissions and commute times.

Mordialloc Freeway, Victoria

By McConnell Dowell, Decmil Group and Major Roads Project.

The Mordialloc Freeway Project included the construction of nine kilometres of road, eight kilometres of shared walking and cycling paths and six new bridges, including four with new freeway entry and exit ramps.

Woolgoolga to Ballina Pacific Highway Upgrade, New South Wales

By Laing O’Rourke, WSP & TfNSW

Pacific Complete managed the delivery of the 129km section of the Pacific Highway between Glenugie and Ballina. The upgrade to four lanes of divided carriageway included earthworks, piling, bridge and structures, pavements, material supply and finishing works.

Quay Quarter Tower, Circular Quay, New South Wales 

By Multiplex Constructions

In delivering the Quay Quarter Tower, Multiplex managed major redevelopment works, including the partial demolition and reuse of the existing 50 Bridge Street building, substantial cost savings, and a significant reduction in the carbon footprint of the building.

R2P Alliance, South Australia

By the Department for Infrastructure and Transport, McConnell Dowell, Arup and Mott MacDonald

The R2P Alliance is a 1.8km section of non-stop roadway, with an overpass over Regency Road, providing three lanes in each direction and two-lane arterial surface roads.

Sydney Metro City & Southwest Tunnel and Station Excavation Works, New South Wales

By John Holland CPB Ghella Joint Venture

The TSE project included the construction of 15.5km of fully-lined tunnels between Chatswood and Sydenham, 57 cross-passages, rail corridor widening, two permanent portals/dive structures, and six new underground stations.

 The six finalists will now submit to a rigorous assessment by an independent panel of experts in the final round of the judging process. 

The winner will be announced on Wednesday 4 May 2022 in Sydney at the Future of Construction Summit Gala Dinner.

Australian Constructors Association CEO, Jon Davies, said in this 25th year of the award, the 2022 finalists demonstrate the industry is continuing to rise to the challenge.

“The construction industry has been tasked with rebuilding the economy and that’s exactly what the projects showcased through this award do,” Mr Davies said.

“This year’s industry greats are literally building Australia while strengthening the critical pillars supporting the construction industry­­ culture, capability and capacity, and equitable and aligned commercial frameworks.

 Engineers Australia CEO, Dr Bronwyn Evans, said, “Once again, the Australian Construction Achievement Award has brought together the best construction projects, delivered by the nation’s very best project teams. 

“We congratulate the finalists on their achievements and for showcasing the innovation and skill of the nation’s construction and engineering workforce.”

 This premier construction industry award has again been partnered by some of the major businesses connected with the industry, including Caterpillar, Cbus, Infra Build and Oracle Construction and Engineering.

Further details about the finalists and the ACAA are available at

Related articles
1 Comment
  1. Construction Companies In Lahore 2 years ago

    This is a very informative article post. Best guide in this article post. The evaluation and judging of the Australian Construction Achievement Award (ACAA) will be a two-stage process by an independent Judging Panel. Thanks for sharing this article post.

Leave a reply

©2024 Infrastructure Magazine. All rights reserved


We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.


Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?