Award winners at the Australasian Rail Industry Awards Gala Dinner

The Australian Railway Association (ARA) has released the finalists for the 2022 Australasian Rail Industry (ARI) Awards.

The awards are presented by the Australasian Railway Association; Institution of Railway Signal Engineers Permanent Way Institution – NSW; Rail Industry Safety and Standards Board; Rail Track Association Australia; and Railway Technical Society of Australasia.

Winners will be announced at this year’s ARI Awards Gala Dinner on Wednesday 14 September, held at Crown Towers in Melbourne.

The finalists are:

Customer Service Excellence Award (ARA)

  • Sydney Trains – Customer Promise
  • Metro Trains Melbourne – Community collaboration with Waverley Industries
  • Transport for NSW –Mobile Boarding Assistance Application
  • Keolis Downer Adelaide – Keolis Downer Adelaide Customer Excellence
  • John Holland Group – Eliwana Railway Track Works, Train Control and Signalling

Rail Innovation of the Year Award (ARA) 

  • ARTC – KM2ME app pinpoints track worker safety and productivity
  • Arc Infrastructure – Digital Twin
  • Laing O’Rourke – SiteHive
  • Sydney Trains – Asset Lifecycle Optimisation for Track Asset Management
  • Metro Trains Melbourne – EV120 – MTM’s track evaluation vehicle
  • Sydney Trains – Carriage Load Project

Sustainability and Environmental Excellence Award (ARA) 

  • North Western Program Alliance – Bell to Moreland Level Crossing Removal Project
  • Transport for NSW – Sydney Trains Electricity & Net Zero Emissions Initiative
  • Downer – Evolution Rail Consortium
  • Australian Rail Track Corporation (ARTC) – Inland Rail  
  • Southern Program Alliance – Additional Works Package 2 – Edithvale, Chelsea and Bonbeach level crossing removals

Employee Engagement Excellence Award (ARA)

  • Keolis Downer Adelaide – Driver Competency and Signals Passed at Danger project
  • Sydney Trains – Enterprise Track Worker Safety Program
  • Rail Control Systems Australia – CECIL – Communication Exchange for Communication, Information & Learning
  • Metro Trains Melbourne – Metro’s Annual Performance Improvement Plan
  • Sydney Trains – Maintenance Operations Strengthening Plan

Diversity and Inclusion Excellence Award (ARA)

  • Downer – Women on Track: A ground-breaking program facilitating employment of women in the traditionally male dominated rail industry
  • Jacobs – Everyday Respect Program
  • Transdev Australasia – Diversity, Equity and Inclusion at Transdev
  • Level Crossing Removal Project – Engineering Pathways Industry Cadetship (EPIC)
  • Keolis Downer – Yarra Trams introduces part-time Tram Driver roles to improve female participation
  • GHD – Excellence in Inclusion & Diversity
  • John Holland Group – The John Holland Gender Affirmation Policy and Toolkits
  • Bowen Rail Company – A Next Generation Rail Business

Safety Excellence Award (RISSB)

  • Sydney Trains – Worker Improvement Outcome – Possession Improvement Team, Sydney Trains for the GPS Possession Limits Markers
  • Metro Trains Melbourne – Wellbeing Program Incorporating Mental Health – Trauma Guidebook
  • Aurizon – Safety Leadership Program/Initiative – Aurizon, Leading for Safety program
  • ARTC – Safety Leadership Program/Initiative – ARTC, Inland Rail Safety and Wellbeing program
  • PTA WA – Industry Safety Professional of the Year – Bronwyn Trlin, PTA WA
  • Metro Trains Melbourne– Safety Initiative by a Young Rail Employee (Under 30) – Deborah Loats, Metro Train Melbourne for the fatigue risk management program
  • Downer –Industry Safety Professional of the Year – Toni McKiernan, Downer

Wellbeing in Rail Award (TrackSAFE Foundation)

  • Alstom Transport – H.O.P.E (Help Our People Engage) Program
  • Southern Program Alliance – SPA COVID-19 Response
  • Metro Trains Melbourne – Train Driver Trauma Recovery Guidebook
  • Sydney Trains and NSW TrainLink – Gold Mental Health First Aid Skilled Workplace

Freight Rail & Heavy Haul Excellence Award (ARA) 

  • Arc Infrastructure – Digital Twin
  • Rio Tinto – The Gudai-Darri Rail Project 
  • Martinus – Carmichael Rail Network (CRN) Project
  • ARTC – KM2ME app pinpoints track worker safety and productivity
  • Rio Tinto – Grinding Quality Analysis (GQA) developed by the RTIO Rail Network Maintenance Team
  • Bowen Rail Company – Greenfield Railway

Young Achiever Award (PWI NSW)

  • Melissa Bong – WSP
  • Farhan Ranman – KPMG
  • Chris Wills – John Holland Group 

Supplier Excellence Award (ARA) 

  • Monash Institute of Railway Technology
  • Agonics
  • SMEC Australia
  • Alium Works

Infrastructure Project Excellence Award (ARA) 

  • North Western Program Alliance – Bell to Moreland Level Crossing Removal Project
  • ARTC & John Holland – North East Rail Line Upgrade
  • Rio Tinto – The Gudai-Darri rail project 
  • Metro Trains Melbourne – REFCL project
  • John Holland Group – Claremont Station Project
  • Southern Program Alliance – Southern Program Alliance 
  • Parramatta Connect – Interface Manager Parramatta Light Rail Infrastructure – Stage 1 Works

Passenger Operations Excellence Award (ARA)

  • Metro Trains Melbourne
  • Transport for NSW
  • Queensland Rail
  • Kelios Downer Adelaide
  • V/Line Corp
  • Keolis Downer Yarra Trams 

Young Rail Professional Award (RTSA)

  • Jonathan Chan
  • Cristin Williams
  • Kelly Douglas 
  • Jane Gillepsie
  • Ryan McLvor

Signalling and Systems Engineering Excellence (IRSE)

  • Sandesh Koyande – John Holland Group
  • Peter Rimkevicus – Metro Trains Melbourne
  • Chris Gordon – Metro Trains Melbourne

Emerging Rail Specialist Award (RTAA)

  • Andrew Lagos
  • Donna Daly

Career Achievement Award (ARA) 

  • Winner will be announced on 14 September
Related articles

Leave a reply

©2024 Infrastructure Magazine. All rights reserved


We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.


Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?