Nominations have been announced for the 2022 Infrastructure Sustainability Council (ISC) Annual Awards, celebrating best practice across the Australia and New Zealand infrastructure sectors.

This year’s awards exemplified excellence in sustainability across environmental, social, governance, and economic quadruple bottom line outcomes and outstanding contributions to market transformation at organisational, systemic and societal levels.

Category nominees have been announced for three awards including; Sustainability leadership, Industry Impact, and Individual Contribution to a Sustainable Future.

See below for a full list of nominated projects and award categories.

Sustainability Leadership

Excellence in Social Outcomes:


  • Parramatta Light Rail: Activate Parramatta
  • ARTC – Inland Rail Program
  • Western Sydney International (Nancy-Bird Walton) Airport’s major earthworks package
  • Bell to Moreland Level Crossing Removal Project
  • Edithvale, Chelsea and Bonbeach Level Crossing Removal Project 
  • Hua a Hapori: Social Outcomes
  • Fulton Hogan’s focus on meaningful change and social inclusion
  • Rozelle Interchange Project
  • South Eastern Program Alliance 
  • Central Station Metro
  • Echuca-Moama Bridge Project 

Excellence in Environmental Outcomes:

  • Hallam Level Crossing Removal Project 
  • Rozelle Interchange Project 
  • Western Sydney International (Nancy-Bird Walton) Airport’s major earthworks package
  • Towards Para Kore (Zero Waste) Construction 
  • Sydenham Metro upgrade
  • Central Station Metro
  • Smart Power Solution for Construction Site Compounds 
  • Metro Tunnel Project (Melbourne) Tunnels & Stations 
  • Pacific Motorway (M1) Upgrade – Package A – Varsity Lakes to Burleigh (VL2B) project
  • Pacific Motorway (M1) upgrade program: Eight Mile Plains to Daisy Hill upgrade and Varsity Lakes to Tugun upgrade 

Excellence in Governance Outcomes:

  • Sydenham Metro upgrade
  • Tonkin Highway Corridor Upgrade – Tonkin Highway Extension (Thomas Road to South Western Highway) & Tonkin Highway Grade Separation (Hale Road to Kelvin Road)

Excellence in Economic Outcomes:

  • M4-M5 Link Tunnels
  • Next Rail 
  • Rozelle Interchange Project 


Industry Impact


Private Sector, large

  • CPB Contractors – Cross River Rail 
  • Laing O’Rourke 
  • John Holland CPB Contractors Joint Venture – Rozelle Interchange

Private Sector, small

  • Degnan Constructions and TfNSW
  • Perspektiv Australia
  • Earth Friendly Concrete – scale up strategy and industry disruption 
  • SOLVE NDD Facility –
    Enviropacific Services Limited

Public Sector

  • Main Roads – Aboriginal Engagement and Roads to Reuse 
  • OMTID-Successfully delivering transport infrastructure in a positive, sustainable way 
  • Transport for NSW Commuter Car Parks Program
  • Transport and Main Roads – transforming the industry
  • ARTC – Inland Rail


Individual Contribution to a Sustainable Future


Emerging Leader:

  • Hala Nader
  • Sam Donaldson
  • Tea Blazic
  • Emily Gentilini
  • Deborah Romero
  • Helena Woolums
  • Dannielle Graham
  • Bridget Lamb

Sustainability Champion: 

  • Stephen Mount
  • Georgia Gosse
  • John Wiggers de Vries
  • Fiona Bowie

Enduring Impact:

  • Andrew Ackerman
  • Dale Thomas
  • Berenize Peita
  • Preetha Sree Kumaran 

Winners will be announced at the Infrastructure Sustainability Council Gala Dinner and Awards Night being held on 12 October in the Sunshine Coast.

Related articles

Leave a reply

©2024 Infrastructure Magazine. All rights reserved


We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.


Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?