Passengers waiting for train in Sydney

The newly-formed High Speed Rail Authority (HSRA), which will formally commence operations on 13 June 2023, has announced the appointment of its Chair and Board members – news welcomed by the Australasian Railway Association (ARA).

The Federal Government announced the appointment of Jill Rossouw as Chair of the HSRA Board, and the four other Board members as Gillian Brown, Dyan Crowther OBE, Ian Hunt and Neil Scales OBE.

The HSRA will oversee the development of the high-speed rail network along the east coast of Australia, which will travel at speeds exceeding 250km per hour from Brisbane to Melbourne.

ARA Chief Executive Officer, Caroline Wilkie, said high speed rail will transform interstate travel on the East Coast – providing a fast alternative to air travel and connecting people from regional areas to major cities.

“High speed rail in Australia is a visionary and nation-building project that has been discussed for decades. It is great to see the Government finalising the HSRA Board appointments and we look forward to engaging with the Authority moving forward,” Ms Wilkie said.

“Rail is the backbone of sustainable transport in this country and it is wonderful to see the HSRA formally begin this transformative project, which will connect and bring great economic benefits to many communities.”

The Federal Government said the first priority of the Authority will be planning and corridor works for the Sydney to Newcastle section of the high-speed rail network.

Related articles

Leave a reply

©2024 Infrastructure Magazine. All rights reserved


We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.


Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?