The 35 finalists for the 14th Intelligent Transport Systems (ITS) Australia Awards have been announced, with the winners to be revealed in early 2024. 

The Awards showcase the best of Australian ITS, reinforcing the nation’s ITS capability and position as a world leader in transport technology development and deployment, with the seven award categories representing excellence across all facets of the ITS industry. 

The categories are the Smart Transport Infrastructure Award, Intelligent Mobility Award, Excellence in Transport Data Award, Excellence in Research and Development Award, Connected and Automated Vehicle Award, Young Professional Award, and the Max Lay Lifetime Achievement Award. 

The Max Lay Award winner will be announced in the coming weeks. 

Finalists were selected by an expanded judging panel of 21 professionals across the intelligent transport industry, spanning industry, government, and academia, ensuring a more inclusive and comprehensive evaluation of excellence.

ITS Australia President, Dean Zabrieszach, said the finalists reflected the breadth of talent across the industry. 

“In an industry filled with exceptional talent, our 35 finalists demonstrate the extraordinary quality and innovation that defines Australia’s intelligent transport systems sector,” said Mr Zabrieszach.

“Each finalist in this year’s awards program embodies excellence, showcasing a commitment to pushing boundaries and redefining standards.”

ITS Australia’s CEO, Susan Harris, said, “What stands out in this year’s pool of finalists is the number of partnerships represented in multiple categories. This demonstrates a sector that is truly connected and collaborative in its focus to solve some of the nation’s biggest transport safety and sustainability challenges.

“The judging panel was also impressed by the breadth of transport solutions being developed by our finalists – from automated public transport shuttles for people with disability, to harnessing AI technology to combat impaired driving, to electric car sharing platforms, the innovation on show in Australia is truly inspiring.” 

The winners will be announced at a gala ceremony at the Sofitel Brisbane, on Thursday 15 February 2024.

For more information and to read the list of finalists, visit the ITS Australia website here.

Related articles

Leave a reply

©2024 Infrastructure Magazine. All rights reserved


We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.


Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?