ITS Australia has announced its new Board of Directors, comprising new and re-elected Board members.

The new board includes:

  • Mr Gino Dompietro – Jacobs Group
  • Mr Jeremy Nassau – Transurban
  • Prof Majid Sarvi – University of Melbourne/Founder of AIMES
  • Ms Silje Troseth – Q-Free Australia
  • Mr Soren Tellegen – Kapsch TrafficCom Australia
  • Mr Dirk Van de Meerssche – Cubic Transportation Systems
  • Mr Michael Watts – Transmax  

They will join ongoing members of the Board:

  • Dr Dale Andrea – VicRoads
  • Mr Chen Cai – Data61/CSIRO
  • Mr James Hurnall – Federal Chamber of Automotive Industries
  • Mr Jeff McCarthy – Roads and Maritime Services
  • Mr Brian Negus – ITS Australia Ambassador
  • Mr Dennis Walsh – Queensland Department of Transport and Main Roads
  • Mr Chris Woods – Robert Bosch Australia (replacing Mr Mark Jackman)
  • Mr Dean Zabrieszach – HMI Technologies

ITS Australia’s Board of Directors will continue to be led by Dean Zabrieszach as President and Dennis Walsh as Vice President. Brian Negus, recently honoured with ITS Australia’s Max Lay Lifetime Achievement Award, was formally appointed to the board to support his ongoing contribution as ITS Australia Ambassador.

“ITS Australia’s Board of Directors is stronger now than it has ever been,” Dean Zabrieszach, ITS Australia President, said.

“With 13 members continuing in their roles, and two new members joining the board, ITS Australia’s governance will continue driving the industry forward.

“I am especially pleased to welcome our new board members Silje Troseth and Majid Sarvi. I strongly believe that the ongoing inclusion of diverse voices at the board level will enable ITS Australia to build, within the Australian ITS industry, an ever greater culture of innovation, excellence, and creativity.”

Incoming Board member, Silje Troseth, said, “I’m honoured to be elected in to the board of directors at ITS Australia. I am looking forward to closer collaboration with the ITS Australia team and working together with the prominent people of the board.

“As a longstanding member of ITS Australia, and having worked actively in the global ITS industry since 2004, I can contribute ideas that help improve member benefits, add relevance, and improve information sharing across the industry.”

Another incoming Board member, Majid Sarvi, said, “I’m delighted to be the first academic appointed to ITS Australia’s Board of Directors. It is a great honour to be elected by my peers in the ITS industry and to have the opportunity to contribute to the governance of this industry-leading organisation.”

Mr Zabrieszach also acknowledged the considerable contribution made by outgoing Board members Bill Advic, Chris Koniditsiotis and Bryce Prosser.

Reflecting on his six-year tenure on the board, retiring member, Chris Koniditsiotis, said, “Not only was it very humbling for my organisation, TCA, to be recognised with a National ITS Australia Award, but it was a privilege for us and for Australia as a whole to be acknowledged internationally for the National Telematics Framework, receiving the ITS Industry Award at the 20th ITS World Congress in Tokyo. Another success was, of course, the ITS World Congress in Melbourne.”

Related articles

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


©2022 Infrastructure Magazine. All rights reserved


We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.


Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?